New EC BIOS firmware for Flybook V5

A couple of days ago, reader lxgeek commented that there was a new version of the Flybook Utility (2.4.0.40) posted on the Dialogue.com.tw downloads page (with a note on it that said “add disable GSM850 in tablet mode (for FCC region)”. When I went to look, however, it is back to listing v 2.4.0.33, although the “posted date” has changed to 2008/09/11, so we’re going on the assumption that they posted it and then pulled it the same day (previous to this, 2.4.0.33 has had a posted date of 2008/04/16).

However, lxgeek now reports that there is a new version of the EC BIOS firmware with a posted date of 2008/09/12:

EC 1.77
BIOS: 08/25/08

lxgeek, who is in the process of obtaining a V5, has been assured that the “no wireless in tablet mode” issue has been “fixed” and won’t be a problem … I’m hoping for a report once the unit arrives.

I’ve so far managed to not “update” my computer in such a way as to stop the use of wireless options while in tablet mode by upgrading the utility but not the firmware. However, that disappearing comment on a new utility version gives me pause. I seem to be working away just fine, so… don’t think I’ll be updating any time soon. Any intrepid types out there – I say go for it! And please report back!

It would be REALLY NICE if dialogue actually gave some SPECIFIC information on what is in a version update.

I would also love to hear what the true status is of the “no wireless in tablet mode” issue – are they working on hardware changes? FCC approval? What?

7 Responses

  1. after upgrading from bios 10-11-07 and EC 1.53 to the latest firmware there is wireless in the tablet mode. at least with the regional settings to a european setting. my V5 is an american import version. (have not tried other settings)

  2. I did a complete reinstall of everything – Vista, dialogue’s drivers, etc. and even installed the new EC/BIOS and new Flybook Utility and I can confirm that I still have wireless in tablet mode. BTW, the only noticable change I can report with the new BIOS is that the WWAN light now flashes just like the WLAN light does when data is being actively transmitted. Now, the only caveat is, I was having trouble with my No Tablet in Wireless mode until I did some registry deleting and then after that it didn’t seem to matter which BIOS or Flybook Utility I installed, wireless in tablet mode always worked after that for me. It was even true when I would do a complete clean of my system and reinstall everything – OS, drivers, etc. – which doesn’t make sense if it was only the registry changes that enabled it because a complete reinstall of everything would have wiped out those registry changes and put them back to the way they were. I know some other people who made the suggested registry changes yet still didn’t have wireless in tablet mode. So why it worked for me and not them and why registry changes fixed mine but still persisted even after I had wiped my system clean and reinstalled everything I don’t know. There must be minor variations in the hardware or something between different lots/shipments. Bottom line – if you install the upgrades (EC/BIOS and Flybook Utility) you’ll probably be OK and have wireless in tablet mode but it’s not a 100% guarantee.

  3. The only other thing I noticed on the new EC/BIOS was the interface screen and information displayed during the upgrade. Curiously there was one line that displayed something like “GPS HSDPA Bluetooth WLAN etc.” All of the options were bolded on mine except the GPS. This would lead me to think that either there is GPS on some of them or they plan to allow us to activate it in the future. It only appeared during the upgrade process and otherwise, the BIOS setup screen looks pretty much the same as it always has.

  4. Re: GPS Oh, wouldn’t that be great.! The screen captures in the manual have the [GPS] button. I was afraid when they stuck the [Fingerprint] button in the same spot that they were giving up for good. Uh… do you still have a [Fingerprint] button on the Utility?

    I STILL haven’t updated my BIOS, living in fear of no wireless in tablet mode. I’ll wait until I find a must-have reason. Thanks for posting your experiences… that is really very helpful.

  5. Yup – now there’s 3 buttons. Camera, Fingerprint, GPS in that order. Only the GPS one is greyed out.

  6. The more I think about it though the more I think they’ll probably be coming out with a new model of Flybook and the new BIOS and Flybook Utility have probably been developed to support that new model which will include GPS since they always use the same software for all their models. Not to be a pessimist or anything…

  7. Hi,

    can anybody send me the firmware? Don´t find des actuallyst one.

    Thx

Leave a comment